From the Beginning

Hello. My name is James and I’ve decided to start a blog about Ruby resources, mainly books and blogs. I’ve been programming with Ruby as my primary language for about 7 years. And like many developers that started with Ruby back then, I bought a very popular book, Programming Ruby by Dave Thomas [US] [CA] [UK]. Most people refer to it as the “pickaxe book” because of a picture of a pickaxe on its cover.

Now, I should mention that this book is no longer being updated so it’s forever stuck at 2013 Ruby which is Ruby 2.0. Don’t let that stop you from getting a copy of this super useful book. The fundamentals covered are as relevant today as they were when first written.

For those just starting out coding, this book may not be enough since it assumes you know OO fundamentals. If you are coming from another high-level language like Python, you should be fine jumping right into learning Ruby with this book at your side. I recommend you have some project or goal in mind as you read. Try building something as you go. You’ll run into problems at each step but each one will help you learn and understand better than if everything “just worked.”

Anyway, this is just the beginning. There are tons of other useful Ruby resources out there. I’ll pick ones that have helped me or new resources that I discover.

Leave a Reply

